top of page

When less is more


So my original plan was to be in Florida for one month. Solo uno.

Raise support, spend time with friends and family, meet new folks and chat about the mission in Mexico.

Not that complicated right?

Haha

Low and behold here I am at seven weeks later and not the anticipated four. I have the year covered in base support, I have spent a lot of time with friends and family, and had great conversations about Mexico with people that were not on my radar. God knows what He is doing.

God provides!

I had an image in my mind of this coming transitional season while I was Ensenada. Like I would return to Florida and have several meals with friends from my local church and people would be like “Oh hooray!” We’d high five. We’d pray. I’d return to Ensenada with Mickeys in my corner and launch out ready for whatever God wanted to do.

Mickey from Rocky.

Although, some of that has happened, it’s been more quiet and refreshing. I worked landscaping with some mentor friends of mine that blessed me greatly both with financial support and with wisdom having been in ministry and missions for several years. Making these connections have been paramount.

To be honest I had no idea if I would be able to return to the mission field or not. I came back to Florida accepting whatever direction 2016 would traverse. Whether that be a part of the CCBC Team in Ensenada or….well whatever the other would be.

I communicated this with many friends and church folk. “Where God guides He provides.” I got funny looks. Responses ranged from “Well, ya just gonna wing it?” to “Good luck with that.”

I get it.

People like a sales pitch.

People like to hear: “Here’s my consolidated plan for 2016…blah blah blah”

But this is where it gets hairy.

This isn’t my plan. Mission isn’t my plan. Going to Mexico isn’t my plan.

Following Jesus is my plan.

In Luke 9:1-6 Jesus lays out the plan for me and every missionary.

“1 When Jesus had called the Twelve together, he gave them power and authority to drive out all demons and to cure diseases, 2 and he sent them out to proclaim the kingdom of God and to heal the sick. 3 He told them: “Take nothing for the journey—no staff, no bag, no bread, no money, no extra shirt. 4 Whatever house you enter, stay there until you leave that town. 5 If people do not welcome you, leave their town and shake the dust off your feet as a testimony against them.” 6 So they set out and went from village to village, proclaiming the good news and healing people everywhere.”

Luke 9:1-6

Take no protection, nothing to hold your possessions, no food, no dinero, nor extra threads. Really? Like nothing? That’s a bit extreme and impractical. “Good luck with that.” indeed.

Why would Jesus send disciples to journey out and share the gospel in this fashion?

Because regardless of the material and what is seen, the gospel will go forth. It will not be hindered by having or not having. Mission is not about the one who is sent, if they have plenty, or can impressively pitch their plan to disciple the world.

“If we were left to ourselves with the task of taking the gospel to the world, we would immediately begin planning innovative strategies and plotting elaborate schemes. We would organize conventions, develop programs, and create foundations… But Jesus is so different from us. With the task of taking the gospel to the world, he wandered through the streets and byways…All He wanted was a few men who would think as He did, love as He did, see as He did, teach as He did and serve as He did. All He needed was to revolutionize the hearts of a few, and they would impact the world.”

David Platt

As I prepare to leave this Saturday and begin organizing my bag for the flight ahead, I’ve realized that right now this is the least I have owned. Books, clothes, and trinkets have been given away and one of the last things I posses with value, a vehicle, is up for sale.

I’m stupid excited about it!

It’s all investment for the kingdom of God. So that Jesus may get glory however He desires. No weights. No stuff.

The song “In over my head” by Jenn Johnson has been my anthem :

I have come to this place in my life I’m full but I’ve not satisfied This longing to have more of You And I can feel it my heart is convinced I’m thirsty my soul can’t be quenched You already know this but still Come and do whatever You want to

I’m standing knee deep but I’m out where I’ve never been And I feel You coming and I hear Your voice on the wind

Would you come and tear down the boxes that I have tried to put You in Let love come teach me who You are again Would you take me back to the place where my heart was only about You And all I wanted was just to be with You Come and do whatever You want to

And further and further my heart moves away from the shore Whatever it looks like, whatever may come I am Yours And further and further my heart moves away from the shore Whatever it looks like, whatever may come I am Yours

Then You crash over me and I’ve lost control but I’m free I’m going under, I’m in over my head Then you crash over me, and that’s where You want me to be I’m going under, I’m in over my head Whether I sink, whether I swim It makes no difference when I’m beautifully in over my head Whether I sink, whether I swim It makes no difference when I’m beautifully in over my head I’m Beautifully in over my head I’m Beautifully in over my head

I realize that my life will not always resemble Luke 9. This is the way of going out on mission. Maybe not necessarily for every day living. There are moms with kids. Dads that own businesses. Following Jesus is going to look different for each person.

Whether we sink or sail hangs only on one factor.

Faith.

It is impossible to please Jesus otherwise.

I cling to the words of one of our Bible Teachers at CCBC, John Bonner. He’s been a missionary to Peru and much of Latin America for well over two decades. In teaching through Matthew chapter 8 John said:

“When Jesus said ‘Foxes have holes, and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has nowhere to lay his head.’ He was telling them what it looked like to follow Him. And the question Jesus extends to us is, ‘Are you willing to make a rock your pillow?'”


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page