top of page

Americana


As the plane’s wheels of my evening flight yelped on Florida pavement, I laid my head back against the stiff foam seat and listened to the airlines welcoming folk tune. It had been six months and I was curious as to what things might have changed whilst living in Mexico. I was excited to catch up on all the details. Though the change I discovered was far different than what I anticipated.

People, both strangers and acquaintances, seemed more foreign than I remembered. And I don’t mean they looked to be from other countries. As in they were wearing turbans and had thick accents or such. Rather, their expressions were more automated than I recalled. More hurried than I remembered. All maintained this glazed look that demanded information. Attention span and talk was less.

“Ruined.”

In the best way of course.

“Once you become a missionary to another culture, know that it will ruin you in the best way.” said my ‘Missions’ class professor with a grin on his face.”As a missionary, you are taking on another culture’s customs and it’s ways of doing life. This can’t be undone.” Mike’s words echoed in my mind. “Ruined.” In the best way of course. But a way that felt like I had journeyed with Matthew McConaughey across the galaxy in “Interstellar” and came home. You see things that can’t be unseen and learn of a world equally true and parallel to your own.

I found other words more effective in Spanish than in English. A camaraderie that crushes selfish individualism. And a pace that walks with and not beyond Christ. I had grown familiar with not seeing nor hearing tiny slivers of what we deem American. The sum of these little nuances are what make up the whole of a culture. Six months of detox then breathing in again the potent fumes of Americana left me clouded and feeling in between worlds.

It isn’t so much that I now believe that the United States is less superior than other countries having now been a missionary for the short time that I have. Rather simply, that the world is not centered around nor maintains the same world view as the U.S. Not everyone is after what Americans are after…dare I say the “American Dream.” Having a 9-5 job, a wife and kids, large home, white picket fence, a dog named Rover, 401k, and a retirement plan. Of which we have, to a large degree, interwoven into Christianity. Somehow Jesus wants us to be well off and to lose our lives at the same time.

We live in a culture that says “bigger is better”.

While in Mexico, I found that many subtle things I believed were more American than they were actually Christian. For example, that “God wants us to do Big things for Him.” I’ve heard this one for years. Now if what we mean is to love the Lord our God with all our heart, soul, mind, and strength (Deu. 4:29) or “whatsoever ye do, do [it] heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men.” (Col. 3:23) we’re on the right track. But if that means that because our love for God is big everything therefore must be big that we do for God…that is incorrect.

Following this line of thinking, if “God wants us to do Big things for Him” churches should be big, everyone successful, events spectacular, and all meetings should have many people. Basically take good and multiply it by 10. What this does is generate people that are ultimately consumer driven and not Spirit driven. We live in a culture that says “bigger is better”.

Take away the miracle grow mentality and what you have is contentment. Time is not measured by quantity of production but quality of production. Blessings are recognized. You can see this effect on how we view food in America. The faster and more we produce the better. In order to do so we spray agricultural crops with pesticides and roundup to protect and increase production. But in doing so we have created a slew of GMOs that ultimately are effecting our health. We eat food that is not real food and believe ideas about God that he never asked of us.

Not every country is perfect. That’s for sure. But ditching the view that a missionary is a hero, nationals then are able to teach you about life and help you follow Jesus as well. You’ll find God is more Holistic, people, and event oriented than He is big, fast, and rushed. He likes things simple, steady, and faithful.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page